top of page

Hispanic Heritage Month at OHCO

Hispanic Heritage Month takes place September 15th to October 15th, every year as a time to recognize and celebrate the many contributions, diverse cultures, and extensive histories of the American Latino Community.

September 15th was chosen as the starting point for the Hispanic Heritage Month because It is the anniversary of the independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua on September 15, 1821. In addition, Mexico, Chile, and Belize celebrate their independence days on September 16, September 18, and September 21, respectively.

Hispanic Heritage Month was first introduced in 1968 by California Congressman George E. Brown as a commemorative week and later expanded to a month-long celebration in 1988 by President Ronal Reagan.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page